Twofer Tacos

I have always loved Taco Bell.  How much exactly?  Enough to convince an employee to allow me to operate the drive-thru one night (…or early morning).

tacobellphoto

I even love Taco Bell enough to use their taco seasoning when cooking at home.  Now, I’m not a nutritionist nor an expert on reading food labels.  However, a recent Google search allowed me to take a peek at what is actually in this seasoning.  Some of the lesser appetizing ingredients included artificial sweetener and …sand (appearing under the alias of silicon dioxide).

This led me to make my own taco seasoning using several spices that I had on hand.  The end result was quick and delicious.  I don’t know that I can confidently say I have ended things with Taco Bell for good, but I can say that I now read labels and follow one simple rule.  If there are ingredients that I cannot easily identify or pronounce, I don’t buy it.

Taco Salad (for B&P)

2 tbs. cumin

1 tbs. chili powder

1 tsp. kosher salt

1 tsp. garlic salt

1/2 tsp. onion powder

1/2 tsp. paprika

1/4 tsp. cayenne

1 lb. grass-fed ground beef

1 mango, cubed

1 bell pepper, diced

1 avocado, cubed

1/3 cup grape tomatoes, halved

spinach leaves

1/3 cup EVOO

1 lime

cilantro (optional, garnish)

salt and pepper to taste

Directions:

Combine the spices in a small bowl.

photo 4-1

Add the spices to the ground beef.

photo 3-2

Brown the meat in a skillet over Medium heat until cooked.

Put the spinach in a large salad bowl and add the meat, mango, avocado, tomatoes and bell pepper.

Drizzle the olive oil and squeeze the juice of one lime over the salad.

Toss and serve!

saladphoto

While I have you here I thought I’d share another very quick way to use this taco meat.  This is really a non-recipe and it involves two of my favorite shortcut ingredients.

Shortcut #1: Mango Salsa with Tomato (Conventional) (pre-made from Whole Foods)

According to the label on this salsa it contains: mango, onion, tomato, cilantro, fresh hot peppers, salt, and lime juice.

Shortcut #2: Guacamole (Traditional) (pre-made from Whole Foods)

According to the label this guacamole contains: avocado onion, tomato, fresh hot chile pepper, cilantro, fresh lime juice, and salt.

Shortcut Paleo Tacos

Ingredients:

Taco meat

Bibb lettuce

Whole Foods mango salsa with tomato

Whole Foods guacamole

Directions:

Place meat, salsa, and guacamole on lettuce leaves

tacophoto

3 thoughts on “Twofer Tacos

    • Ummmm I am still onboard for Taco Bell anytime! Your paleo tacos sound DELICIOUS can’t wait to try!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

